RSS

Daily Archives: March 7, 2013

Daily Prompt: Seven Days

Daily Prompt: Seven Days: You wake up tomorrow morning to find all your plans have been cancelled for the next seven days and $10,000 on your dresser. Tell us about your week.

$10,000 is already a very big money here in the country and if I have to spend it within the next seven days, it’s never gonna be thrown to waste.  Here, my life is just as plain as the road that I keep tracking down.  It’s just as clean as the blue sky above and it’s just as open as the book I love reading over and over again.

In my first fifteen years of life, I’ve lived grandiosely.  My parents provided me and my siblings more than adequate and I truly satisfied myself.  I enjoyed my fairytale-like childhood and all my dolls and preppy dresses which I never realized how expensive they were.  I got most of what I needed and I enjoyed most of what I wanted, but not recently.

Years turned pages and so as my life.  Everything I used to enjoy were all gone.  After my Doctor Dad died, I indirectly turned to be a breadwinner until such time, I realized that I already was, and I am now.  I work hard in this big city to provide my family their daily needs.  I work hard to pay my family’s undying debts and so as mine.  I work hard to find myself, reach my goals and to somehow twist my reality.  I wish I could make things better.  Though I know that I can never bring back what my family used to have but at least, I could give my mother a better life for her elderly years.  I love her so much and I’ll do everything for her.  I came here in this big city for her.  She’s always been part of my dreams and for all my failures and accomplishments, she’s always there.  My big sister as well for she had done a lot of sacrifices for me when I was still in College.  She gave up her life just to have me finish and now that I successfully graduated from College and was able to get a well compensating job, I’m always gonna be there to pick her up at times she drops.  Part of my life are my sister-like two nieces for the big one has been living with us all her life treating my mother, who happened to be her grandmother, as her second mother as well, while the little one has been so used rushing at home at times she hated theirs for she treats my big sister, who happened to be her aunt, as her second mother.  These two little kids are actually biologically sisters and they just love hanging around with us.

If given a chance, a one in a million chance, if only unselfish and just seeing a $10,000 worth of money in my closet, I’ll spend it with them.  I’ll have it fractioned.  The first $2,000 will go for the family debt and so as mine.  The second will be for my big sister in putting up a small business.  The third will go to the bank, $1,000 for my mother’s savings and the other $1,000 for mine.  The fourth will be for a small unit here in the city for I want to take them all with me and just leave the province for good, and for buying the necessary things for settling down.  And the last part, will be for my two nieces’ education here in the city.  They would need the money very soon.

They worth more than $10,000!

They worth more than $10,000!

Engrandeng Bakasyon, Vacaccion Grande, Grand Vacation or however you call it.  That’s all that will first come to mind, I’m sure.  $10,000 is already a very big money here in the country and if I have to spend it within the next seven days, definitely, it will never be gone to waste.  I can travel my country very soon.  I can even travel the whole world if given the chance but, with all I experienced with my family especially during the difficult years when we lost everything we got, I wouldn’t want a grand vacation anymore.  A well compensating stable job, a little unit I can call my own, to lessen my debts, and to keep my family with me all in good health — they all worth more than $10,000!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Daily Prompt: All Grown Up

Daily Prompt: All Grown Up: When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

AT MY AGE, I still go back to my yesterdays when I was still a little child for no matter how grown up I am now, I still miss my fixation stage and the times I spent with my mother, crack jokes with her, act childishly, boisterously laugh with my big sister, hanging out with  my high school friends, and above all, my undisputed fifteen years of being with my late twin sister.  They’re so sweet and familiar yet my present is quite more upbeat and adventurous though.  In the past, I can hardly recall the times I acted so grown up already for there were a lot of instances when I had to stand for what I believe in and they all took a real an adrenalin rush.  Partly I enjoyed, partly I got scared and partly I felt lonely and just wanted to run home.  A lot just happened in my life and funny how I can still recall most of them while the other some, I just can hardly remember.

My photo taken yearback December 2009!

My photo taken year back December 2009!

YET, IF THERE’S this first time I ever felt like a real grown up, I would say that, it was the time I moved away from home and got myself here in Metro Manila for a Call Center job.  It was an adventure for me for, though I had already previously visited Manila, I still had never settled for good and that time, I had to and it surely excited me.  Just to say that, though I was still in my own country, the place was still very foreign and strange.  I got culture shocked at first time for life here was just so far different from my province.  Here, life was so fast yet back in my hometown, all was easy and lay-back.  I wasn’t used in a severe traffic, then I had to hurry for I’ll be late.  I had to work in Makati and the travel was long.  Everything here was just too expensive and I was still on a very tight budget.  Overall, lifestyle was really different.  I also had to be very mindful for I never knew whom to trust.  Life here in this big city was so difficult and I can never count the number of times I used to say, “I’m quitting!” and I just wanted to go back home yet I just can’t for home was just miles away.  I can never forget my many sleepless nights and crying times.  It took time for me to adjust and thank GOD, I was able to.  He helped me out in this big city and He guided me all along.  He was my only refuge and I got no one to hold on but Him.  And here now, I’m all grown up now.  I’m already stronger and I already learned a lot from this sole journey.  This is the only place I’ve stayed longer than usual except for my hometown.  Though I can never deny that I easily get depressed lately and I once again have this feeling of being homesick and just want to go back home but I’m fighting it because — it’s all here!  My life is all here.  I have already settled here and I already made it for three straight years.  There’s just no room for quitting anymore.  Besides, my work is here, my circle of friends, my relatives, my life.

My photo taken last January 2013!

My photo taken last January 2013!

GOD is indeed good.  He gave me adequately.  He never came too early nor too late.  And, I’ll say it again — HE DOES NOT COME TOO EARLY NOR TOO LATE!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Daily Prompt

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,